more.bad.poetry

where awkward private thoughts become public knowledge.

Gone

Leave a comment

After 24 days I had 24 reasons to let him stay away
But I couldn’t resist the heroin high his songs makes in my brain.
I gave him a song like a blanket, something to calm his shivering mind;
Gave up my strength to heal his wounds, then died when he pushed me aside.

His face is starting to fade, getting harder to call to mind
There’s only echoes of his voice – him telling me he’s mine.
His face, it came in a dream once though, clear as the day we met;
Heart it raced, and when I woke up, I had to remember that he’d left.

We’re like the ocean, our love comes in tides –
A rush of relief when we smash and collide –
And then all at once, roughly ripped back to sea
Pulled down to the depths and exposed to the deep.

Author: hairlikehoney

A girl. With thoughts. That are weird. And random. Who can be bribed with bacon cheese fries. Who figured out how to bleed bad thoughts onto a page and then let them go.

Leave a Reply

